Break the Code 9/1/10

I have to say, I never expected this to happen. We found out what the Jotunhammer was after a trip to see Groa the seer. The Fimbulwinter couldn’t be stopped because the Jotunhammer was a giant meteor. We’re talking end-of-the-dinosaurs Ice Age meteor. After we left Groa’s, we rolled down a mountain in a giant kinetic ball. I would have normally mentioned something regarding Super Monkey Ball, but I was too annoyed at myself. Why couldn’t I see the problem before? Fate says that Ragnarok is inevitable…so Fate itself is the problem. I couldn’t mention it to Groa; as an agent of Fate herself, she wouldn’t tell me anything that would help me disrupt it.

At the bottom of the mountain was the world tree, Yggdrassil. A tithe of blood was required to climb it, so we all cut our palms and climbed up. Jocasta cut mine and she did a really good job, just deep enough to draw blood. After she tripped me coming up the trail, I wondered if it was such a good idea, but I didn’t care at the time. I felt locked into fate; whatever happened would happen, regardless of choices. Up the World Tree, we found a refuge of the Aesir and their alfar allies. With mugs in hand, we watched the news come in. Tens of millions, gone. Everything within 200 miles of Vegas, gone. On top of that, the dust and silt in the atmosphere was projected to cause three years’ worth of winter. I feel at such a loss…Amaranth was getting on my nerves, so I went onto the patio to get some fresh air and suppress my urge to start blasting away with my GLOCK.

Jocasta came out onto the balcony and called her mother with the new phones we got, thankfully she was all right. We talked for a little while and I apologized for being obnoxious lately. My feelings for her haven’t changed, but…I dunno, with everything that’s happened, flirting like a high schooler just doesn’t feel right. Besides, it wasn’t working all that well, especially since she sent me sprawling.

Thomas stops typing on his Raspberry to idly scratch at the gauze on his hand.

She patched up my cut after I dripped blood on her wrist, and I did the same for her after an initial protest. I know she can take care of herself but damn it, I want to. She helped me feel better after I told her how powerless and trapped I felt. I couldn’t sleep so I stayed on the balcony and Amaranth texted me after a few hours to apologize for being a pain. We do have the same…or similar…goals, but we were just on different pages. Maybe if we all get on the same page, our teamwork will improve. One can only hope…

Apparently Loki sent a note and wants to meet us. I have no idea what he even wants, but nothing involving the Lie-Smith is good news. I’ll need to stay sharp for this one, see through the lies and find the truth. My compass isn’t revealing much lately, my abilities seem to be stagnating for the moment, but I can feel something building, something I can’t describe…

I need sleep before I pass out. There’s work to be done tomorrow.

Thomas looks around the darkened room as he saves the journal, looking at the phone and editing in an addendum:

I hope Jocasta’s resting well.

About conallcurach

A weapon is worthless without the will to wield it.

Leave a comment